Seth Shapiro's Business Innovation Blog

I’m very honored to be returning to the Board of Governors of the Television Academy for the next two years – with so many friends, and two of my TV heroes: Terry Winter of The Sopranos and Boardwalk Empire, and Lily Tomlin.

Thank you so much to all my friends in the Interactive Media Peer Group for making this possible with your votes… I’m very grateful…

From, November 11, 2014

Newly Elected Television Academy Governors Announced

The Television Academy has announced the newly elected Board of Governors members. Their two-year terms begin January 1, 2015.

  • The Board of Governors oversees many aspects of the Television Academy, including the Emmy Awards.

NoHo Arts District, CA – The Television Academy today announced the newly elected members to the Board of Governors.  The new governors will serve the two-year term beginning on January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016.    Governors elected to serve a first term include: Ted Biaselli, Jill Daniels, Peter Golden, CSA, Tammy Golihew, Beatriz Gomez, Terry Ann Gordon, Norman Leavitt, Sam Linsky, Janet Carol Norton, Philip Segal and Terence Winter.  Former governors, Steve Kent and Mark Spatny, return to the board after a period of absence and join these first term governors.

Additionally, the following governors were re-elected for a second term: Stuart Bass, A.C.E., Tony Carey, Barbara Cassel, Shari Cookson, Ed Fassl, Ed Greene, Kieran Healy, Lynda Kahn, Michael A. Levine, Gail Mancuso, Dorenda Moore, Brian O’Rourke, Lowell Peterson, ASC, Seth Shapiro, Lily Tomlin and Screech Washington.

The full list of newly announced governors along with their peer groups is below:

  • Stuart Bass, A.C.E. – Picture Editors
  • Ted Biaselli – Children’s Programming
  • Tony Carey – Production Executives
  • Barbara Cassel – Art Directors & Set Decorators
  • Shari Cookson – Documentary Programming
  • Jill Daniels – Animation
  • Ed Fassl – Sound Editors
  • Peter Golden, CSA – Casting Directors
  • Tammy Golihew – Public Relations
  • Beatriz Gomez – Los Angeles Area
  • Terry Ann Gordon – Costume Design & Supervision
  • Ed Greene – Sound
  • Kieran Healy – Electronic Production
  • Lynda Kahn – Motion and Title Design
  • Steve Kent – Daytime Programming
  • Norman Leavitt – Makeup Artists/Hairstylists
  • Michael A.  Levine – Music
  • Sam Linsky – Television Executives
  • Gail Mancuso – Directors
  • Dorenda Moore – Stunts
  • Janet Carol Norton – Professional Representatives
  • Brian O’Rourke – Commercials
  • Lowell Peterson, ASC – Cinematographers
  • Philip Segal – Reality Programming
  • Seth Shapiro – Interactive Media
  • Mark Spatny – Special Visual Effects
  • Lily Tomlin – Performers
  • Screech Washington – Producers
  • Terence Winter – Writers

– See more at:

Posted in Blog by Seth Shapiro.

Leave a Reply